My Favourites: March

Okay I know I say this every month but wasn’t Christmas like yesterday? How is it nearly April?? Like the clocks have gone forward and everything now?? Anyway, here are a few things I’ve been enjoying this month, if you want an even shorter list you can check out my YouTube video, if you’re coming from that direction welcome and enjoy!

1. Mashed Banana on Toast.

DSC01748

I got real obsessive about this breakfast early on in the month and I’m still in love with it. It’s literally a mashed banana with cinnamon in spread on some toast. Yes it’s not exactly the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen but it’s one of the most delicious I’ve ever felt on my taste buds. And it’s so quick, I can even manage to eat this before work so 10/10 would recommend.

2. Reading

DSC01658

Reading was always a passion of mine when I was little, but somewhere in my teens I let it fall by the wayside, and I think as an adult it’s easier sometimes to do other things for leisure than read. But I recently posted this TBR, and accompanying video if you’re interested, and I’ve been working on getting through some of those books. And honestly I’ve been really enjoying myself. It helps that we’ve had a spell of dry and warm weather so I’ve been getting out into the garden with my books which is just the loveliest way to read.

3. How To Be A Victorian

DSC01747

The only book I’ve successfully completed this month and my new favourite non-fiction book; How To Be A Victorian by Ruth Goodman. If you’ve been around you may remember that in last month’s favourites I mentioned my love for Wartime Farm, in which Ruth Goodman played a part. So honestly I’m just a huge fan of Ruth, hence purchasing this book! But the book gives an incredible insight into the world of ordinary people during the reign of Queen Victoria, and some of the more posh too but I’m much more interested in the ordinary folk. If you’re a bit of a history nerd like me you’ll love this book it’s so personal and wonderful and it’s just my new favourite.

4. Louise Live

DSC01746

Another favourite in the entertainment department! This DVD came out last year and I was rather lax about getting it, but I’m so glad I did! It’s a proper comedy gig and I had to pause the DVD several times just to have a good laugh. I’m a huge fan of Louise’s anyway and her humour generally appeals to me so I was going to enjoy it either way. But the reason I immediately put it onto my favourites list after my first viewing this month (note; first) was because it make me literally cry with laughter. And anyone who can do that is automatically my favourite, and if you’re a fan of Louise you need this in your life.

5. Divide

DSC01745

Controversial I know, it’s not like Ed Sheeran has had 10 songs in the top 10 charts in Ireland since this CD was released or anything. Honestly it’s well deserved, Ed Sheeran is such a story teller when it comes to his music and it all just sounds good to my ears. And I’m going to say, I know it’s been divisive but I like both Galway Girl and Nancy Mulligan. Galway Girl is a bit deedle-i I agree but it’s a whole heap of fun to dance to, and Nancy Mulligan is a lovely story about how his grandparents got together. All in all a wonderful album. And in case you’re wondering my favourite song is New Man, the phrase “he has his eyebrows plucked and his arsehole bleached” never fails to make me laugh.

6. Red Nail Polish

DSC01744

I couldn’t finish out the month without adding some form of beauty product! This is a red nail polish from Seventeen called Red Soul and it’s bloody brilliant. It’s opaque after one coat and dries in two minutes, and just look at the colour! Beautiful, brilliant, fire truck red. And while I can’t remember the exact price it was probably around 2 or 3 euros because I don’t spend that much on nail polish. So if you’re looking for a good nail polish at a good price I would recommend checking out Seventeen’s range.

And those are my March favourites! Have any of you been into any of this this month? Anyone got any recommendations for me? Leave them in the comments below! Thanks for reading!

Until Next Time,
Emily Jayne xo

Leave a Reply

